CHAIR MAYOR SUMBUL SIDDIQUI

VICE CHAIR RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN



MEMBERS AKRITI BHAMBI ALFRED B. FANTINI JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS DAVID J. WEINSTEIN AYESHA M. WILSON

C22-248

--In School Committee--08/23/2022

Ordered:

WHEREAS: Jean Spera retired on July 31, 2022, after 36 years of dedication to the students, families, and staff of the Cambridge Public Schools; and

WHEREAS: Jean is a lifelong resident of Cambridge and graduate of the Cambridge Public Schools who committed herself to public education and giving back to her community; and

WHEREAS: Jean is currently serving as a board member of the East Cambridge Scholarship Committee and was recently elected to serve as a board member of the East Cambridge Planning Team; and

WHEREAS: Jean began her career with the Cambridge Public Schools on February 14, 1986, being hired as an Extended Term Substitute and quickly hired as a School Psychologist in November; and

WHEREAS: During her tenure with CPS, Jean held several key positions within the Office of Student Services as Assistant Director, Interim Executive Director, and Interim Assistant Superintendent; and

WHEREAS: Jean has been asked and served on various committees for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and has been recognized by her peers at the state level by the Massachusetts School Psychologist Association receiving the 2018 Friend of Children Award; and

WHEREAS: Jean will join her sister, Anna Spera, a long-term dedicated classroom teacher at the Harrington and Peabody schools, in retirement, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That the Cambridge School Committee go on record expressing its gratitude to Jean Spera for her tireless work and ensuring that each student in Cambridge has the optimal conditions to receive high-quality instruction and thrive and wish her a happy and healthy retirement; now be it further

RESOLVED: That a formal copy of this Resolution be prepared by the Executive Secretary to the School Committee to be presented to Jean Spera.

A true copy:

ariel B. Kennebreu

Ariel. B. Kennebrew Executive Secretary to the School Committee

c: Member Fantini Motion # C22-248