CHAIR MAYOR SUMBUL SIDDIQUI

VICE CHAIR
RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN



MEMBERS
ALFRED B. FANTINI
CAROLINE HUNTER
JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS
DAVID J. WEINSTEIN
AYESHA M. WILSON

--IN SCHOOL COMMITTEE--

October 3, 2023

ORDERED:

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School (BBCS) was founded by a group of Cambridge parents, educators, and community members including Cambridge parents Kathy Reddick (former NAACP President), Caroline Hunter (former CRLS teacher), educators Dr. William McLaurin (former CRLS Assistant Principal) and Nella LaRosa Waters (middle school specialist), community members George Chip Greenidge, the late Harvard Professor Charles Ogletree, Pam Ogletree, and many others; and

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School founders met and worked on the BBCS proposal at hundreds of meetings over the course of four years, successfully receiving a state charter in 1996; and

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School is the inspiration of concerned community leaders, parents, and educators, with the common vision and purpose of providing all Cambridge and local youth, regardless of race, culture, language, or socioeconomic status with a high-quality education; and

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School's student population is racially and ethnically diverse, including students in the following DESE categories: 72.6% high needs, 65% low income, 40% first language is not English, 11% with disabilities, and 6% are English language learners; and

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School, under the capable leadership of Executive Director Sherley Bretous, is one of seven Massachusetts schools, among 350 nationwide, that has been named a 2023 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education. The school received this designation based on overall academic performance or progress in closing the achievement gap among student groups on assessments; and

WHEREAS: The Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School is sincerely commended as a recipient of this national honor in recognition of its achievement as a National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the School Committee extends a congratulations to the Benjamin Banneker Public Charter School community; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the Executive Secretary be and hereby is requested to forward a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution to Executive Director Sherley Bretous on behalf of the entire School Committee.

CHAIR MAYOR SUMBUL SIDDIQUI

VICE CHAIR RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY Ariel B. Kennebrew

TEL: 617-349-6620 • FAX: 617-349-6624 akennebrew@cpsd.us

MEMBERS

ALFRED B. FANTINI CAROLINE HUNTER JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS DAVID J. WEINSTEIN AYESHA M. WILSON

A true copy:

ariel B. Kennebrew Attest:

Ariel B. Kennebrew Executive Secretary to the Cambridge School Committee

Motion #23-246

cc: Member Hunter Member Fantini Vice-Chair Rachel Member Rojas Mayor Siddiqui Member Weinstein Member Wilson Superintendent