CHAIR MAYOR SUMBUL SIDDIQUI

VICE CHAIR
RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN



MEMBERS
ALFRED B. FANTINI
CAROLINE HUNTER
JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS
DAVID J. WEINSTEIN
AYESHA M. WILSON

-- IN SCHOOL COMMITTEE --

akennebrew@cpsd.us

September 19, 2023

ORDERED:

WHEREAS: Members of the LGBTQIA+ community face significant discrimination and bullying both in schools and in society at large; and

WHEREAS: The 2022 Teen Health Survey reflected that students in the LGBTQIA+ community face higher rates of suicide and depression, and research suggests this is true for adolescents and adults nationwide; and

WHEREAS: Student and staff well-being is a fundamental concern of the Cambridge School Committee and school boards across the country; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the Cambridge School Committee affirms its support to promote the needs and safety of all staff and students who are LGBTQIA+ and Gender Non-Conforming within our district; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the School Committee gives its support to responsible civic actions by students, educators, and others who are raising the visibility of this issue and seeking changes in public policy; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the School Committee of Cambridge, Massachusetts urges state and federal policymakers to support laws and regulations that:

- Provide adequate funding for LGBTQIA+ awareness and anti-bullying training for both staff and students:
- Provide for safe bathrooms, locker rooms, and changing spaces for transgender and Gender Non-Conforming staff and students;
- Strengthen counseling and mental health services for LGBTQ students.

A true copy:

Attest:

Ariel B. Kennebrew
Executive Secretary to the Cambridge School Committee

ariel B. Kermebrew

Motion #23-237 cc: Vice-Chair Rachel Member Rojas Member Fantini Member Hunter Member Weinstein Member Wilson CHAIR MAYOR SUMBUL SIDDIQUI

VICE CHAIR RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY Ariel B. Kennebrew

TEL: 617-349-6620 • FAX: 617-349-6624 akennebrew@cpsd.us MEMBERS

ALFRED B. FANTINI CAROLINE HUNTER JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS DAVID J. WEINSTEIN AYESHA M. WILSON

Mayor Siddiqui Superintendent