C24-316

CHAIR MAYOR E. DENISE SIMMONS

> VICE CHAIR CAROLINE HUNTER



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY Katherine M. Christo TEL: 617-349-6620 · FAX: 617-349-6624 kchristo@cpsd.us

--IN SCHOOL COMMITTEE-

December 3, 2024

ORDERED:

WHEREAS: The School Committee recognizes the importance of fairness and equality in its rules and practices, particularly regarding public comment procedures; and

WHEREAS: The School Committee Governance Subcommittee has determined that establishing a consistent time limit for all speakers in public comment would support equitable participation across all individuals; and

WHEREAS: A standard time limit of three (3) minutes for public comment was discussed and recommended by the School Committee Governance Subcommittee, ensuring that no individuals receive preferential time allowances; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the School Committee formally adopts a standard time limit of three (3) minutes for all individuals participating in public comment; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the School Committee Rules be amended to reflect this three-minute time limit standard, specifying that these rules shall apply uniformly to all individuals to ensure equal opportunity for community members to share their perspectives in public meetings.

A true copy:

Attest:

atheme ()

Katherine Christo Executive Secretary to the Cambridge School Committee

Motion #24-285

Mayor Simmons Vice Chair Hunter Member Hudson Member Harding Member Rachel Member Rojas Member Weinstein Superintendent MEMBERS

RICHARD HARDING, JR. ELIZABETH HUDSON JOSÉ LUIS ROJAS DAVID J. WEINSTEIN RACHEL B. WEINSTEIN